What Asana AI is and which plans include it

Asana's pricing page lists Asana AI (AI Teammates, Asana Dash and AI Studio) as included from Starter ($10.99 per seat a month billed annually), Advanced ($24.99 per seat a month billed annually) and Enterprise[1]; the free Personal plan (2 users) doesn't include it. You can test it on Asana's free Advanced trial (no credit card required). What varies by tier is the usage allowance: 50,000 AI Studio credits a month on Starter, 75,000 on Advanced, and AI Teammates and Dash requests capped at 50 per account (see the pricing mechanics below).

As of its 4 June 2026 Work Innovation Summit in London, Asana repositioned itself around "agentic work management" — explicitly framing the platform as an operating system for human and agent teams, not a project tracker with a help bot bolted on.

Asana's own justification for the push is a stat worth sitting with: it claims roughly 75% of knowledge workers already use AI, but only 5% of organizations report meaningful productivity gains from it. That's Asana's own gap analysis, and it's the stated reason for the pivot.

The build-out behind that pivot is concrete and named:

Key takeaway — AI Teammates and AI Studio are named, documented features with real integrations, not just a landing-page promise[2]. The support-chatbot caveats apply to the chatbot, not to the rest of Asana AI.

What this playbook can't confirm is quality. The user-review evidence behind it is five reviews, and the one AI touchpoint they describe in detail is a customer-support chatbot that handles billing and account questions. Beyond the AI features its pricing page lists from Starter, the quality of what Asana claims about in-app AI for project and task management is unverified in this evidence set — not false, just not something we can confirm or deny here. Treat it as something to pilot and test on your own account, not a feature to plan your workflow around sight unseen.

What AI Studio actually automates

AI Studio's workflows split into three documented categories, and they map to genuinely different risk levels:

Category What it does Examples
Intake Filters and routes incoming work Duplicate detection, SLA-based routing, classification/scoring
Surface Flags things humans would otherwise miss Risk flags, stakeholder roll-ups, document/web search
Act Takes action or generates output Drafting briefs/comms from templates, cross-tool syncing, language translation

Intake and Surface are low-stakes — they're filtering and flagging, not changing anything. Act is where the 93%-full-edit-access finding (see governance below) becomes relevant: an agent that generates a client-facing brief and syncs it across tools is also an agent that can push a wrong draft live if it's not scoped down first.

Pricing mechanics: credits, requests, and the hidden overage math

Asana meters AI two separate ways, and the two meters don't resemble each other — this is the detail most teams miss when budgeting.

Tier AI Studio credits/month AI Teammates/Dash request cap (per account) Seat price
Starter 50,000 50 total $10.99 per seat a month billed annually
Advanced 75,000 50 total $24.99 per seat a month billed annually
Enterprise 200,000 250 total Contact sales

The request cap is the trap. It's quoted as "5 requests per user per month," but it's hard-capped account-wide at just 50 total requests on Starter/Advanced[1] — meaning a 20-person team shares the same 50-request pool a 10-person team gets (5 requests a user hits the 50 cap at 10 users). Burn through it and overage runs $0.50 per prepaid request, or $5.99/user/month plus $0.60/request on an on-demand plan.

Heavier AI use pushes costs further. One reported case: a team needing "meaningful AI automation" moved to AI Studio Plus at $150/month for 100,000 credits, then burned roughly 200K credits per person monthly anyway — adding ~$300/user/month on top of the Advanced license ($30.49 per seat a month billed monthly), for an effective ~$330/user/month on AI-heavy workflows. A modeled total-cost-of-ownership comparison for a 50-person team put Asana at $17,994/year (Starter subscription for 50 seats $6,594 a year + labor $9,000 + error/rework $2,400) against $17,400/year for Notion in the same model — close enough that AI usage intensity, not list price, is likely the deciding variable.

Two structural pricing issues compound this:

Key takeaway — Budget AI Studio credits and AI Teammate requests as two separate line items with two separate overage risks. The request cap in particular is account-wide, not per-seat — a handful of power users can exhaust it for the whole team by mid-month.

Governance: permissions, model provenance and data handling

One governance detail matters more than the feature list: in Asana's own beta testing, 93% of AI Teammates were granted full edit access rather than restricted permissions. If you're piloting AI Teammates, don't accept the default. Explicitly scope each agent to read-only or limited-edit access before it touches live project data[3] — the beta data suggests most teams won't do this unless they're told to.

Whose AI is this, actually?

Asana doesn't disclose, in any of the material available here, which model or vendor powers its AI features. We don't know if the support chatbot or the in-product Asana AI runs on a proprietary model Asana built in-house or routes to a third-party LLM provider.

This matters for two practical reasons. First, if you're in a regulated industry (healthcare, finance, legal), your compliance team will ask which model, which data residency, which retention policy before approving AI use at all — and none of that is answerable from public evidence alone. Second, unclear provenance usually means unclear data handling.

Ask your Asana account rep directly, in writing, before you feed anything sensitive into any AI-labeled feature. Get the answer on your contract or in an email, not a sales call.

Data handling: what to get in writing

On training, Asana's AI page is explicit: Asana's AI partners don't use your data to train their models and are required to delete it after each query[2].

Two data questions remain open in this evidence set:

None of this means Asana is doing something wrong. It means the documentation needed to confirm good practice wasn't available for this review. If you manage a workspace with client names, financial figures, or anything under an NDA, don't assume AI features are isolated from your data until you've seen it in writing.

Key takeaway — "Not disclosed" is not the same as "safe." Before you route sensitive task content through any AI feature, get Asana's data-handling answer in writing — don't infer it from the marketing page.

Curious how Asana feels in practice?Free trial of Advanced, no credit cardStart free trial →

The support chatbot: where it fails and when to escalate

Asana runs an automated chat layer for customer-service inquiries — billing questions, account deletion requests, general account troubleshooting. It's the one AI touchpoint multiple independent reviewers describe in detail.

And the reviews are not kind. The consistent pattern across them: the bot loops without resolving the actual issue, especially on two high-stakes requests — refunds and account/data deletion.

This is useful information precisely because it's specific. If your query is a simple account question (password reset, where's my invoice, how do I update a seat count), the bot may route you fine. If your query involves money moving or data being permanently removed, budget zero trust in it.

How to use the chatbot without wasting time

  1. Open with the exact issue type up front. Lead with "billing dispute" or "account deletion request" in your first message rather than general small talk — this won't fix the bot's limits, but it shortens the loop before you escalate.
  2. Set a two-reply limit for yourself. If the bot hasn't routed you to a human or resolved the issue within two exchanges, stop. Reviewers describe looping as the dominant failure mode — more messages rarely break the loop.
  3. Screenshot everything. If you later need to dispute a charge with your bank or card provider, a timestamped record that you attempted resolution through official channels strengthens your case.
  4. Never treat a chatbot confirmation as a deletion or refund confirmation. Verify independently (email confirmation, account status check) before assuming the request processed.

Escalate past the bot immediately for anything high-stakes

This is the single most actionable piece of advice the review evidence supports, and it's worth treating as a rule rather than a suggestion.

For billing disputes: Don't cycle through the chatbot hoping for a different outcome. Go directly to your payment provider (card issuer, PayPal, etc.) and file a formal dispute if Asana's support channel isn't resolving it. This is the explicit workaround reviewers point to, and it sidesteps a bot that isn't built to handle contested charges.

For account/data deletion requests: Same logic. If the chatbot can't confirm deletion, pursue it through a documented support ticket or email to Asana support that creates a paper trail, rather than relying on chat confirmation alone.

For anything involving legal or compliance deadlines: Don't let a chatbot interaction be your only documented attempt at resolution. Escalate early enough that you have time for a human-reviewed outcome before a deadline hits.

The most valuable AI skill in Asana support today might be knowing exactly when to stop using it.

Role-by-role: how to apply this

If you're the admin managing the company's Asana subscription

Your job is risk reduction, not feature maximization. Before renewal, confirm in writing (not from the chatbot) what your actual billing terms are, your seat count, and your cancellation policy. Don't let a support-chat exchange be your only record of a pricing conversation — get it in an email thread you can reference later.

If you're evaluating Asana AI for your team

Treat it like any vendor claim you haven't tested: pilot before you commit. Pick one project, turn on the AI features your tier includes, and run it for two to four weeks against the same workflow your team already does manually. Compare actual task output, not Asana's marketing description, and only roll it out further once your own team confirms it holds up.

If you run an agency or a marketing team

One third-party assessment characterizes Asana AI as suited to marketing teams that need formal, recorded approval workflows — a documentation and sign-off tool — rather than a tool that generates creative deliverables directly. That lines up with where Asana has actually expanded next: Asana Client Management, now available on both Starter and Advanced, adds a two-way client portal, capacity planning, margin tracking, and four dedicated agency agents (account health, creative production, profitability, resourcing) — built for agencies managing approvals and billable work, not for teams wanting AI to produce the creative work itself.

If you're a customer trying to get a refund or delete your account

Skip the chatbot for the core ask. Use it only to open a ticket or confirm you're a registered account holder, then push for human support or go straight to your payment provider if money is involved. Document every step with timestamps.

A quick reference table

Touchpoint Status What the evidence shows Recommended move
Asana AI (AI Teammates, Asana Dash, AI Studio) Listed on Asana's pricing page from Starter; quality unverified in this evidence set No review data confirms quality or reliability Pilot on one non-critical project before depending on it
AI Teammate permissions 93% granted full edit access in Asana's beta Default access is broad Scope each agent to read-only or limited edit before it touches live data
Support chatbot (billing, account questions) Verified by multiple reviews Loops, frequently fails to resolve refunds and deletion requests Use for simple queries only; escalate to human support or payment provider for anything high-stakes
Underlying AI model/provider Not disclosed N/A Get written confirmation from your Asana rep before sharing sensitive data
AI pricing (included vs. add-on) Included from Starter, not on the free Personal plan (Asana pricing page) Not covered by reviews Check the per-account AI Studio credit and AI Teammates/Dash request limits for your tier before relying on it

ROI: what we can and can't claim

We're not going to hand you a made-up percentage here. There's no outcomes data in this evidence base — no case study, no benchmark, no customer-reported efficiency gain tied to Asana's AI. Any specific ROI number for Asana AI would be invented, and we don't do that.

What we can say honestly: the measurable win available to you right now is avoided waste, not gained output. Reviewers describe real time lost looping with a support bot that couldn't resolve their issue. The fix — a two-reply cutoff and immediate escalation — is a process change you control, and its payoff is in hours not spent arguing with a chat window, not a productivity multiplier from the AI itself.

When you pilot Asana AI features in your own workspace, measure your own before/after numbers on a real project. That internal benchmark is worth more than any industry-wide stat you'll find quoted elsewhere, because it reflects your actual workflow and your actual data sensitivity constraints.

Ready to put Asana to the test?Free trial of Advanced, no credit cardStart free trial →

Cost pitfalls to price in before you commit

Because Asana AI is bundled from Starter, the budgeting risk isn't access — it's the usage allowance, which varies by tier, and the overage you pay once it runs out.

Before you factor AI capability into a renewal decision or a plan upgrade:

Key takeaway — Asana AI comes with every paid tier from Starter, so don't upgrade just to unlock it; an upgrade raises the AI Studio credit allowance (75,000 on Advanced vs 50,000 on Starter), not access.

Power moves, condensed

Frequently asked questions

Does Asana AI cost extra?+

No extra fee: Asana's pricing page includes Asana AI (AI Teammates, Asana Dash, AI Studio) from Starter at $10.99 per seat a month billed annually, with per-account usage limits (50,000 AI Studio credits a month on Starter, 75,000 on Advanced; AI Teammates and Dash requests capped at 50 per account). The free Personal plan (2 users) doesn't include it, and Asana offers a free Advanced trial with no credit card required.

How do Asana's AI request limits work?+

AI Teammates and Asana Dash are quoted at 5 requests per user per month, but the total is capped account-wide: 50 requests on Starter and Advanced, 250 on Enterprise. A team of 10 or more on Starter or Advanced shares the same 50-request pool. AI Studio credits are a separate meter: 50,000 a month on Starter, 75,000 on Advanced and 200,000 on Enterprise, per billing account.

How should I set permissions when piloting Asana AI Teammates?+

Don't accept the default. In Asana's own beta testing, 93% of AI Teammates were granted full edit access. Scope each agent to read-only or limited-edit access before it touches live project data, especially agents that draft output or sync it across tools.

What model powers Asana's AI features?+

Not disclosed in any evidence available for this review. We can't confirm whether it's a proprietary model or a third-party LLM, so treat provenance as an open question and ask your Asana rep directly before sharing sensitive data.

Does Asana train its AI on my workspace data?+

According to Asana's AI product page, Asana's AI partners don't use your data to train their models and are required to delete it after each query. Subprocessors and opt-out options aren't documented in the material reviewed here, so get those in writing before putting sensitive project data through any AI feature.

Can I use Asana's chatbot to get a refund or delete my account?+

Reviewers consistently report the support chatbot fails to resolve both refunds and account-deletion requests, often looping without resolution. Escalate to a documented human support ticket, and for billing disputes, go directly to your payment provider if Asana's own channel stalls.

The bottom line for power users

Asana AI (AI Teammates, Asana Dash and AI Studio) comes with every paid plan from Starter; what changes by tier is the allowance, and the account-wide request cap is the line to watch. The Asana AI touchpoint user reviews document is a support chatbot that struggles with the exact situations where users need it most: money and data. That's a real limitation worth knowing before you lean on it.

The in-product Asana AI may well be more capable — plenty of software companies have thin support-bot experiences sitting next to genuinely useful in-product AI. But we can't confirm that from the evidence here, and neither should you until you've tested it yourself inside your own workspace, with your own data, against your own workflow.

Sources
  1. [1] Asana — pricing (Asana AI by tier) (2026-10) https://asana.com/pricing
  2. [2] Asana — AI product page (2026-10) https://asana.com/product/ai
  3. [3] Asana — AI Teammates press release (2026-10) https://asana.com/es/press/releases/pr/asana-announces-new-ai-teammates-collaborative-agents-that-deliver-results