How to actually use ClickUp Brain, feature by feature

Brain isn't one button. It's three separate entry points, and they don't read the same data.

Inside a task: Ask AI

Location: open any task, click the Brain icon in the task detail panel.

Prompts worth copying:

  1. "Summarize the last 10 comments on this task." Returns a condensed bullet recap of the thread.
  2. "Draft a status update from this task's activity for a Friday stakeholder email." Pulls status changes and comments into a short paragraph.
  3. "What's blocking this task from moving to Done?" Reads linked dependencies and recent comments.
  4. "Write a daily standup update based on my tasks due this week." Useful as a first draft — run it against a task you know well before trusting it on one you don't, and edit before sending.
  5. "Turn this into three subtasks." Inconsistent: this sometimes writes plain text into the task description instead of generating actual structured subtasks. Check the task after running it.
  6. "When a task is created in Product space, assign it to me." Typed into the automation builder instead of a task, this plain-English prompt auto-generates the rule. Confirm your plan's automation limits in Workspace Settings before scaling this across a busy workspace — ClickUp doesn't publish quota numbers on its pricing page, so check your own account rather than assume a number.

Inside a Doc: the Brain button

Location: every Doc has a Brain button in the upper-right corner, launching three workflows.

One real limit: Brain can only read native ClickUp Docs. It can't ingest uploaded PDFs or Word files — if your source material lives outside ClickUp, you're retyping it in before Brain can touch it.

Wikis get priority. Convert a Doc to a wiki (Doc settings → Convert to Wiki) and Brain treats it as the authoritative source when answering related questions elsewhere. That's the mechanism that turns a pile of Docs into something closer to a knowledge base — but only for pages someone remembered to mark.

Across the workspace: search

Location: the search bar at the top of the workspace, or Cmd/Ctrl+K.

Try: "Show me everything due next Tuesday," "What's blocking the Q3 launch?," "What did we decide about pricing in last week's meeting notes?," "Which tasks mention [client name]?"

Cross-app search, once you connect Google Drive, Figma, GitHub, and Jira, extends that same search bar to those tools — genuinely useful if your team's context is scattered across four logins instead of one.

What each entry point is documented to read

Brain isn't one assistant with one memory. ClickUp's help documentation describes three separate surfaces, each scoped to different data — which is why the same question comes back answered, half-answered, or empty depending on where you ask it.

Entry point What it is scoped to read Ask here when
Task panel — Ask AI the task it is opened on: description, comments, activity, linked dependencies the answer lives in one task's own thread
Workspace search (Cmd/Ctrl+K) across the workspace, ranked by relevance rather than recency you don't know which task holds the answer
Doc Brain button Docs — ClickUp documents this surface for drafting and working inside documentation the answer lives in a Doc, or you're writing one

The practical consequence is the part worth remembering: a detail that exists only in a task comment sits outside what the Doc button is scoped to reach, no matter how you phrase the prompt. And in a busy workspace, search ranks — so a question whose answer lives in one specific task is answered more reliably from that task's own panel than from the search bar.

Key takeaway — Brain's three entry points don't share a data source. Pick the one whose scope actually contains the answer, not the one that's fastest to open. When a prompt comes back vague or empty, the first thing to check is whether you asked from a surface that can see the data at all.

💡
Toolkit tip
Request the subprocessor list and DPA by name

Ask your account rep or route through legal/procurement intake — the pricing page and help docs won't have it. Get model provenance and training/retention terms in writing before enabling AI workspace-wide.

A worked example: Doc to tasks, and what an agent run costs

The most common real workflow is meeting notes to action items. Open the source Doc, click Brain → Summarize to get a condensed recap, then select the notes and run Edit → Generate action items. ClickUp turns the flagged items into a task list inside the Doc, which you then convert to real ClickUp tasks with linked assignees and dates. We didn't capture verbatim output text for this piece since it varies by doc content — but the mechanic is fixed and repeatable, and it's worth running once on a meeting doc you already know cold, specifically to see whether the extracted items match what you remember being decided.

Every one of those actions draws from the same AI Credit pool. ClickUp's help documentation illustrates how cost scales with complexity using three Super Agent examples built for bug triage, but it's worth being precise about what it does and doesn't disclose:

Agent What it does Tool actions Credits
Bug Helper (simple) Retrieve Chat message → create task → evaluate priority → update field → reply in thread 5 Not itemized — falls somewhere in the 100–300 band
Bug Researcher (intermediate) Adds web + Workspace search, posts a suggested fix 8 Not itemized — same band
Bug Manager (complex) Adds similar-task search, creates a Doc, diagrams the fix 9+ Not itemized — same band

ClickUp publishes only the aggregate range for Super Agent and Autopilot Agent runs — 100 to 300 credits — and states the cost "varies by the complexity and number of actions the Agent performs" [help.clickup.com/hc/en-us/articles/37837088720151]. It doesn't assign a specific number to Bug Helper, Bug Researcher, or Bug Manager; those three exist to show that more tool actions cost more, not to give you a figure to budget against. The actual per-run number for your own Agent shows up in a "Credits" hover panel on that Agent's profile, visible only to Workspace admins and that Agent's managers — ClickUp's public docs don't publish those figures [help.clickup.com/hc/en-us/articles/37837088720151]. One thing worth knowing before you build: constructing a Super Agent doesn't consume credits by itself — only running the actions in its prompt does [help.clickup.com/hc/en-us/articles/37837088720151].

ClickUp's Agent Performance table (Workspace Settings → AI Usage, or AI Hub → Analytics) reports each agent's actions completed, time saved, value created, cost, and ROI as a multiplier. ClickUp's own documentation uses 330x as a worked example of how that multiplier is expressed [help.clickup.com/hc/en-us/articles/34741383911959] — treat it as an illustration of the calculation, not a benchmark any given agent is likely to hit. Pull up your own table before deciding whether an agent is worth automating further, rather than estimating from the credit price alone.

Whose AI it is

ClickUp's pricing and help-center pages — the material reviewed for this piece — don't name which model or models power Brain, and don't spell out whether workspace content trains that model, how long prompts and outputs are retained, or whether an opt-out exists. That's one open question, and it stays open across every feature above: task panel, Doc button, search, and every Super Agent run.

Brain's biggest limitation isn't the model — it's that ClickUp won't say which one it is.

Key takeaway — Treat "ClickUp Brain" as a black box on the model-and-data-handling question until you confirm provenance directly with ClickUp. A pricing page and a help article are not a subprocessor list.

4.7/5 (11,389 reviews)
G2 rating — ClickUp's strongest third-party score.
4.6/5 (4,558 reviews)
Capterra rating from thousands of verified users.
4.0/5 (661 reviews)
Trustpilot rating, the lowest of the three third-party sources cited.

The ratings above and our Toolkit Score reflect ClickUp's strength as a broad task/doc/chat platform. They aren't a verdict on Brain specifically, which is metered and gated in ways the base product isn't — weigh the feature notes above alongside those scores before planning an AI-dependent rollout.

Curious how Clickup feels in practice?Try Clickup

What ClickUp Brain costs

Base plan pricing:

Plan Monthly billing Billed annually
Free Forever $0 $0
Unlimited $10/seat/mo $7/seat/mo billed annually
Business $19/seat/mo $12/seat/mo billed annually
Enterprise Contact sales Contact sales

Brain rides on top of a base seat, and it's genuinely not a flat $5/user/month — that figure doesn't appear on ClickUp's pricing page. As of ClickUp's Brain pricing page, there are two paid tiers [clickup.com/brain/pricing]:

Brain tier Monthly billing Billed annually
Free Forever $0 $0
Brain AI $18/user/mo $9/user/mo billed annually
Everything AI $68/user/mo $28/user/mo billed annually

Pricing here is actively in flux: ClickUp notes some Workspaces are already being shown "a new set of plans that include more ClickUp AI," while others remain on the plans above with features unchanged [help.clickup.com/hc/en-us/articles/34741383911959; help.clickup.com/hc/en-us/articles/37837088720151]. Get the current per-seat figure in writing from sales before you budget a rollout, especially at Enterprise volume.

The same page lists standalone add-ons: AI Super Credits, $10 for 10,000 credits, purchasable in $10 increments (ClickUp suggests $10, $20, or $30 packs) and usable for Super Agents, AI Fields, and image generation [clickup.com/brain/pricing; help.clickup.com/hc/en-us/articles/37837088720151]; Talk to Text, $9/user/mo for unlimited voice dictation [clickup.com/brain/pricing]; AI Notetaker, listed on ClickUp's own pricing page as "$12 starting for 60 hours/month" of meeting recording, transcripts, and summaries — ClickUp doesn't specify a separate per-user-per-month rate beyond that starting figure [clickup.com/brain/pricing]; and a one-time AI Live Training Workshop, $400 for a 2-hour session [clickup.com/brain/pricing].

All of it sits under ClickUp's fair use policy and a "Super Fair Billing" commitment: when its own AI costs drop, ClickUp says it passes the savings to customers, and if provider rates rise, it adjusts pricing gradually and with advance notice rather than passing the increase on immediately [clickup.com/brain/pricing; help.clickup.com/hc/en-us/articles/34741383911959].

How usage actually gets metered. AI Credits cost $0.001 each. Buying a $10 pack sets a 10,000-credit monthly usage limit across every credit-metered feature, and that limit renews monthly without rolling over — an unused balance resets instead of banking toward a heavier month [help.clickup.com/hc/en-us/articles/37837088720151].

Per-feature estimates from ClickUp's help center [help.clickup.com/hc/en-us/articles/37837088720151]:

Action Credits
AI Fields (one use) 10
Create tasks from Chat messages 10
AI Assign 10
AI Prioritize 10
AI Cards 20
AI image generation 100
Autopilot Agent / Super Agent run 100–300, by complexity

Brain is switched on by default, on a trial basis, in every Workspace; trial usage limits vary by plan, and once the trial ends only paid plans can purchase Brain AI [help.clickup.com/hc/en-us/articles/37837088720151]. ClickUp's documentation doesn't spell out what happens to prompts, Docs, or Agents already built once that cutoff hits — confirm directly with ClickUp before a trial expires if you have anything live depending on it. Admins manage the on/off setting from Workspace Settings → Apps → ClickUp Brain, and manage the paid add-ons (Super Credits, Talk to Text, Notetaker) from Billing → Add-ons; because plans are being rolled out unevenly across Workspaces, the exact menu label can differ depending on when yours was provisioned [help.clickup.com/hc/en-us/articles/34741383911959].

Admins get banner notifications, plus alerts inside the Agents and Automations menus, at 80%, 90%, and 100% of the Workspace's AI usage limit; crossing just over 100% blocks premium AI features until the next month's renewal [help.clickup.com/hc/en-us/articles/34741383911959]. Overage protection prevents that lockout: switched on, it defaults to a $10 max monthly top-up and upgrades the Workspace's credit pack size at the next renewal once triggered [help.clickup.com/hc/en-us/articles/34741383911959].

The Analytics dashboard (Workspace Settings → AI Usage) reports "Time Saved" and "Human Cost Savings." Human Cost Savings is Time Saved multiplied by an hourly rate that defaults to $50 and is editable by admins [help.clickup.com/hc/en-us/articles/34741383911959]. Time Saved itself runs on fixed per-action benchmarks, also editable: task creation/update at 4 minutes, Doc creation/update at 6, comment creation/update at 2, summary generation at 6, search & load assets at 3, image generation at 30, external app action at 5, app search at 5, view creation/update at 7, and artifact creation at 60 [help.clickup.com/hc/en-us/articles/34741383911959]. Editing those benchmarks changes the reported savings number, not actual credit consumption — worth remembering before quoting an ROI figure to a budget committee.

⚠️
Watch out
No model or data-handling disclosure exists

ClickUp hasn't published which LLM powers its AI, whether it trains on workspace content, retention periods, or an opt-out — SOC 2 and ISO 27001 certifications don't cover any of this.

Brain pays off mainly for teams already heavy in Docs and Chat, where there's enough native content for it to draft from and search across. If ClickUp is functioning as a lightweight task list for your team, the add-on buys less than it would for a docs-heavy one.

Governance and rollout: what to confirm before you scale it

Run the meeting-notes check first. Before building any workflow around Brain, open a Doc you already know the ground truth of, run Summarize and Generate action items, and compare against what actually happened. Ten minutes, and it tells you more about grounding than any prompt template.

Then work this sequence, with a paper trail:

  1. Week 1 — request the subprocessor list and DPA directly from ClickUp (through your account rep or legal/procurement intake, not the pricing page), and ask in writing whether workspace content trains the underlying model and whether an opt-out exists; cc security.
  2. Week 2 — confirm retention terms for prompts and outputs: how long stored, whether logged for QA, who can see the log. Escalate if the reply is a generic privacy-policy link instead of a specific clause.
  3. Week 3 — decide and document which project types are cleared for AI use regardless of whether a full answer has arrived; gate HR, legal, client PII, and financial records behind that written confirmation until it does.
  4. Week 4 — run the task-panel, Doc, and search tests from the section above against content you already know, and log which surfaces returned grounded answers.

Audit quarterly. Set a recurring task auditing high-traffic, AI-touched Doc pages every quarter, using Brain itself to summarize what changed since the last review. ClickUp's own FAQ is explicit that AI-generated documentation is "not reliably accurate on its own" — review factual and technical details before anything from a Brain draft ships, especially a runbook someone might run at 2 a.m.

💡
Toolkit tip
Run a grounding test before trusting AI search

Bury a made-up client name or odd deadline in a task comment, then ask the AI a question only answerable from that detail. A generic answer means it's not actually grounded in your workspace data.

## Power moves for teams already using it
Ready to put Clickup to the test?Try Clickup

Cost and pitfalls to price in

Budget Brain as a real line item, not an assumption — it's a separate purchase from any base plan (see pricing above). The reliability gaps matter as much as the charge:

Question Status as of this review Who should own it
Which model(s) power Brain, and data-training policy Not disclosed on ClickUp's pricing or help-center pages reviewed here IT / Security
Brain pricing and tiers Brain AI $18/user/mo ($9 billed annually); Everything AI $68/user/mo ($28 billed annually); confirm current figures with sales in writing Finance / Ops
Usage metering AI Credits at $0.001 each, $10 per 10,000-credit pack, feature costs 10–300 credits depending on action Finance / Ops
Output grounded in workspace data vs. generic Varies by entry point — see "What each entry point is documented to read" above Team lead running pilot
Cross-app search coverage (Drive, Figma, GitHub, Jira) Documented by ClickUp; indexing scope not independently verified here Team lead running pilot

Common mistakes teams make when rolling out ClickUp AI

Frequently asked questions

Which AI model powers ClickUp Brain?+

Not disclosed in available documentation — it could be proprietary or a routed third-party LLM like OpenAI or Anthropic.

Does ClickUp train its AI on my workspace data?+

Unclear and not confirmed anywhere in public material. Ask in writing and get a documented answer before enabling AI on sensitive content.

How long does ClickUp retain AI prompts and outputs?+

Not disclosed. Confirm retention terms and who can access logged prompts before rolling out AI features broadly.

Is ClickUp AI included in my plan or a paid add-on?+

No plan breakdown confirms this. Brain MAX is sold as a separate SKU, so ask sales directly whether AI is billed per seat, per workspace, or per action.

How can I tell if ClickUp AI search actually reads my workspace data?+

Feed it a task with a specific, unusual detail buried in a comment and ask a question only answerable from that detail. A generic answer signals it's not truly grounded.

Is a SOC 2 certification enough to trust ClickUp's AI with sensitive data?+

No. SOC 2 and ISO 27001 cover infrastructure security, not which model processes your prompts or whether that vendor retains them.