beehiiv and Kit, the company formerly called ConvertKit, are the two email platforms built most directly for creators, and they are compared 140 times a month in the United States. They solve different problems. Kit was built for creators who sell products and courses; beehiiv for newsletters that sell subscriptions and advertising. The pricing of each follows that difference.

This comparison uses Kit's own pricing page for Kit and beehiiv's for beehiiv, both read on 9 October 2026. beehiiv's comparison page against Kit is cited where useful, as the vendor's own argument.

The short answer

Below that, Kit costs less. Above it, beehiiv does. Kit's automation for product funnels is deeper; beehiiv's tools for audience growth and advertising are broader.

💡
Toolkit tip

Price branding removal: Creator at Kit, Pro at beehiiv.

## How Kit charges

Kit's pricing page, read for 1,000 subscribers, shows three plans: Free, Creator and Pro [20]. Free is $0 for up to 10,000 subscribers, with unlimited landing pages, forms and broadcasts, tagging and segmentation, and selling digital products and subscriptions included. Creator is $33 a month, or $390 billed yearly, adding unlimited visual automations and sequences, removal of Kit branding, and 24/7 email and chat support. Pro is shown at $50 a month as a first-year offer against a list price of $66, adding unlimited users, engagement scoring and deliverability reporting [20].

On sales, Kit lists 3.5% plus 30 cents and says the fee is "inclusive of credit card processing fees, so Kit only takes 0.6% of the total fees" [20]. On paid recommendations, it lists a fee of 23.5% [20].

How beehiiv charges

beehiiv sells Free, Lite, Pro and Enterprise, priced by active subscribers across the whole workspace [4]. At 1,000 subscribers, Lite is $59 a month or $588 a year, Pro $109 or $1,140 [3]. beehiiv takes 0% of paid subscriptions [17] and 20% of paid recommendations [13]. Stripe's 2.9% plus $0.30 applies to each charge.

💡
Toolkit tip

Check both sliders at your own list size.

## Price at 1,000 subscribers, billed annually
Kit beehiiv
Free plan ceiling 10,000 subscribers 2,500 subscribers
Selling on the free plan Products and subscriptions One digital product; no subscriptions
Entry paid plan Creator, $390 a year Lite, $588 a year
Branding removed From Creator From Pro only
Higher plan Pro, $593 first year (offer) Pro, $1,140 a year
Fee on paid subscriptions 3.5% + 30c incl. processing 0% + Stripe 2.9% + $0.30
Fee on paid recommendations 23.5% 20%

From both vendors' pricing pages [20] [3]. We could read Kit's prices only for the 1,000-subscriber tier, the one its page shows by default.

One line is easy to miss. Removing branding costs $390 a year at Kit and $1,140 a year at beehiiv at this size, because beehiiv reserves it for Pro [3].

The break-even on fees

The plan gap at 1,000 subscribers is $198 a year in Kit's favour. The fee gap is 0.6 points of gross sales in beehiiv's favour. They meet at $33,000 a year.

Worked example 1. 150 readers paying $6 a month bring $10,800 a year. Kit's extra 0.6 points cost $65. beehiiv's extra plan cost is $198. Kit is $133 cheaper.

Worked example 2. 300 readers paying $10 a month bring $36,000. Kit's extra 0.6 points cost $216. beehiiv's extra plan cost is $198. beehiiv is $18 cheaper: level, in practice.

Worked example 3. 1,000 readers paying $8 a month bring $96,000, on a list that would sit on a higher tier at both vendors. The fee difference alone is $576 a year in beehiiv's favour.

Our arithmetic. Plan prices at higher tiers differ from the 1,000-subscriber figures above, so check both vendors' sliders at your own list size.

⚠️
Watch out

beehiiv's Kit price at 100,000 could not be confirmed on Kit's page.

## What each plan includes, side by side

From the two vendors' own pricing pages, at the entry paid plans [20] [3]:

Kit Creator beehiiv Lite
Automations Unlimited visual automations and sequences 10 live automations
Branding removed Yes No, Pro only
Seats Not stated on the card 2
Publications Not stated on the card 3
A/B testing Subject lines Yes
Polls and surveys Polls Polls and surveys
RSS campaigns Yes No, Pro only (RSS to Send)
SMS marketing Yes Not offered in the feature table
MCP connection for AI tools Yes Yes, with write access
Support 24/7 email and chat Tickets; no email or phone channel
Ad network Newsletter sponsorships listed Ad Network, paid monthly
Website and podcast Landing pages Website builder and podcast hosting

At the next plan up, Kit Pro adds unlimited users, subscriber engagement scoring, deliverability reporting and a Growth Concierge team [20]; beehiiv Pro adds branding removal, unlimited automations, dynamic content, the Send API and ten seats [3].

The pattern is clear. At the entry level Kit gives more automation and more white-label for less money; beehiiv gives more publishing surface and more ways to earn.

Fees per charge, not per year

The 0.6-point difference looks small as a percentage, so here it is per payment. On a $5 monthly subscription, Kit's 3.5% plus 30 cents is $0.475 a charge, 9.5% of the payment. beehiiv's Stripe fee of 2.9% plus $0.30 is $0.445, or 8.9%. On a $50 annual subscription, Kit takes $2.05 (4.1%) and Stripe on beehiiv $1.75 (3.5%). Our arithmetic on both vendors' published fees [20] [17].

Either way, the fixed 30 cents dominates small monthly payments. Pricing annual plans saves more on fees than choosing between these two platforms.

⚠️
Watch out

Kit sequences must be rebuilt as beehiiv automations.

## Paid recommendations, priced on both

Both vendors run a marketplace where newsletters pay each other for new subscribers. Kit lists its fee at 23.5%, beehiiv at 20% [20] [13].

Worked example. Buying 1,000 new subscribers at a $2.00 offer costs $2,000 on either platform. On beehiiv, $400 of that is the platform's fee and $1,600 reaches the recommending newsletters. On Kit, at 23.5%, $470 is the fee and $1,530 reaches them. Our arithmetic, assuming the fee is deducted from the offer price on both, which beehiiv states and Kit's table implies.

Free plans, in practice

A creator with 6,000 subscribers who sells a $29 guide. On Kit Free, the list fits and the guide can be sold from day one, with Kit's 3.5% plus 30 cents on each sale [20]. On beehiiv, the list does not fit Free's 2,500, so a paid plan is needed before anything else; at the 10,000 tier that is $139 a month or $1,428 a year [3].

A writer with 1,800 subscribers who will not sell for a year. Both free plans fit. beehiiv Free adds a website, podcast feed and recommendation network [3]; Kit Free adds unlimited landing pages and forms [20]. This one is a matter of taste, not cost.

Curious how Beehiiv feels in practice?Try Beehiiv →

Promotional pricing to watch

Kit's Pro plan is shown with a first-year offer, $50 a month against a list price of $66, billed at $593 for the first year [20]. Kit's page also advertises pay yearly, save 17%. Budget for the list price in year two. beehiiv's published prices carry no first-year discount [3], though promotion codes and affiliate discounts can apply at checkout [4].

What beehiiv's comparison page claims

beehiiv's page against Kit lists beehiiv at $119 for up to 10,000 subscribers and $399 for up to 100,000, against Kit at Free, with ads and $679 [48]. The beehiiv figures match its own Lite annual prices expressed per month. We could not confirm the $679 for Kit from Kit's own page, so treat it as beehiiv's figure, not Kit's.

The same page says "Kit takes a cut of every paid subscription and digital product sale." [48]. That is accurate, and Kit is open about it: its 0.6% is printed on its own pricing page.

Testing beehiiv's claim that its price does not spike

beehiiv's page against Kit promises "transparent pricing that doesn't spike as you grow" [48]. Transparent, yes: every tier is published [3]. Whether it spikes depends on how you measure. On monthly billing, Lite rises from $59 at 1,000 subscribers to $469 at 100,000, nearly eight times the price for a hundred times the list. Per thousand subscribers it falls from $59 to $4.69. Our arithmetic.

The steps between tiers are where a bill jumps. Crossing from 10,000 to 10,001 subscribers moves Lite from $139 to $199 a month, a 43% rise for one subscriber. That is how every tiered price works, including Kit's, but it is a spike in the plain sense, and auto-upgrade decides whether you pay it automatically [5].

Where Kit is stronger

Where beehiiv is stronger

Migration

beehiiv publishes a step-by-step guide for moving from Kit [45]. The usual checks apply: the whole list must fit the tier, because over-limit imports are held [9]; tags and custom fields need mapping; and Kit sequences have to be rebuilt as beehiiv automations, which are capped at ten live on Lite [3].

Ready to put Beehiiv to the test?Try Beehiiv →

This is the most important practical fact in the comparison, and it comes from beehiiv's own migration guide. Free subscribers move with a CSV export and import, tags and locations included. Paid ones do not: "If your paid subscriptions are managed through Kit + Stripe Express, there is not a way to migrate over paid subscriptions to beehiiv." [45]. The guide explains that Kit does not expose the payment details needed to move them.

beehiiv offers two workarounds [45]:

  1. Ask paid readers to subscribe again on beehiiv, after cancelling or refunding their Kit subscriptions, optionally with a discount link.
  2. Grant complimentary access on beehiiv for the rest of each reader's current billing period, then ask them to subscribe.

Both mean some paying readers will not come back. If a tenth of 300 paying readers at $10 a month fail to resubscribe, that is $3,600 a year lost, more than ten years of the $198 plan difference at 1,000 subscribers. Our arithmetic. For a creator with an established paid base on Kit, that attrition is the real cost of switching, and it should be estimated before anything else.

Moving paid readers from Substack is different: beehiiv's Substack comparison says readers move through Stripe without being notified [16].

Subscription dates and history

By default beehiiv gives every imported subscriber the import date as their subscription date. The migration guide explains how to keep the original Kit sign-up dates by mapping the created-at field to a date custom field [45]. If you report subscriber tenure to sponsors, do this on the first import; it is harder to repair later.

Policies to compare before you choose

On beehiiv, "All sales are final upon subscription" [6], annual plans cannot pause [4], and growth above a tier is charged only if you turn on auto-upgrade; otherwise sends may be delayed [5]. Kit's pricing page advertises a 14-day free trial with no card and free migrations [20]. We have not yet measured Kit's refund and billing terms in full; we will when Kit's own review is published.

Questions to answer before you choose

  1. What will you sell? Products and courses favour Kit; subscriptions and ads favour beehiiv.
  2. How big is your list today? Under 10,000 and selling now, Kit Free covers it; beehiiv needs a paid plan.
  3. What is your paid revenue? Under about $33,000 a year, Kit's plan saving is larger than beehiiv's fee saving.
  4. Must branding go? Kit removes it at Creator; beehiiv at Pro.
  5. How much automation do you need? More than ten live automations means beehiiv Pro.

Four creators, four answers

Creator List Revenue Better fit
Course seller, launching 4,000 $12,000 a year in courses Kit: free plan fits and allows selling
Paid newsletter, established on Kit 8,000 300 readers at $10 Kit, unless the paid base can be moved without loss
Paid newsletter, starting fresh 8,000 Same 300 paying readers beehiiv: fees and ad income outweigh the plan gap
Media brand, three newsletters 30,000 Sponsors and ads beehiiv: multiple publications, ad network

The second and third rows have identical numbers and opposite answers. The difference is the migration, not the platforms.

Frequently asked questions

Is Kit cheaper than beehiiv?+

On the plan, yes: $390 a year against $588 at 1,000 subscribers. On fees, beehiiv is cheaper by 0.6 points, which outweighs the plan gap above about $33,000 of paid revenue a year.

Is ConvertKit the same as Kit?+

Yes. ConvertKit renamed itself Kit.

## Who should choose which

Choose Kit if you sell courses, templates or other products, if your list is under 10,000 and you want to sell before you pay anything, or if your paid revenue is under about $33,000 a year.

Choose beehiiv if the newsletter itself is the product, if you want ad revenue and recommendations as income, if you run several publications, or if your paid revenue is above about $33,000 a year.

Our composite score for beehiiv is 3.61. We have not yet published a score for Kit.

Sources
  1. [1] beehiiv vendor pricing page (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/pricing
  2. [2] beehiiv machine-readable pricing file (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/pricing.md
  3. [3] beehiiv help: plan types and tier pricing (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/23874462928663.md
  4. [4] beehiiv help: change plan type and tier (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/13092031997847.md
  5. [5] beehiiv help: refund eligibility (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/13092084756631.md
  6. [6] beehiiv help: what the free trial includes (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/22101553752471.md
  7. [7] beehiiv help: account reviews and blocks (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/43764493955991.md
  8. [8] beehiiv help: importing subscribers (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/4412705350679.md
  9. [9] beehiiv help: how subscribers are counted (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/42699429776279.md
  10. [10] beehiiv help: Ad Network FAQ (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/17507491038231.md
  11. [11] beehiiv help: the beehiiv Wallet (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/14194157250583.md
  12. [12] beehiiv help: Recommendations Network FAQ (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/14194737991319.md
  13. [13] beehiiv help: ways to contact support (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/18621437457303.md
  14. [14] beehiiv Terms of Use (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/tou.md
  15. [15] beehiiv comparison page against Substack (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/comparisons/substack.md
  16. [16] beehiiv paid subscriptions feature page (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/features/premium-subscriptions.md
  17. [17] Substack, going paid (2026-10) https://substack.com/going-paid
  18. [18] Trustpilot aggregate and review corpus for beehiiv (2026-10) https://www.trustpilot.com/review/beehiiv.com?languages=all
  19. [19] Kit vendor pricing page (2026-10) https://kit.com/pricing
  20. [20] Mailchimp vendor pricing page (2026-09) https://mailchimp.com/pricing/
  21. [21] MailerLite vendor pricing page (2026-10) https://www.mailerlite.com/pricing
  22. [22] Brevo machine-readable pricing reference (2026-10) https://www.brevo.com/pricing.md
  23. [23] beehiiv help: the community app (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/42004299269655.md
  24. [24] beehiiv AI features page (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/features/artificial-intelligence.md
  25. [25] beehiiv help: getting started with the MCP (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/39255979546263.md
  26. [26] beehiiv integrations page (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/integrations.md
  27. [27] beehiiv help: exporting content and subscribers (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/12258595483543.md
  28. [28] beehiiv help: delete your account (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/32057514798231.md
  29. [29] beehiiv help: pausing and retention (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/34177235644823.md
  30. [30] beehiiv full machine-readable site dump (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/llms-full.txt
  31. [31] beehiiv help: the Send API (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/36759164012439.md
  32. [32] beehiiv help: domains (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/12999491162391.md
  33. [33] beehiiv Enterprise page (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/enterprise.md
  34. [34] beehiiv automations feature page (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/features/automations.md
  35. [35] beehiiv Ad Network page (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/ad-network.md
  36. [36] beehiiv recommendations feature page (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/features/recommendations.md
  37. [37] Substack, about (2026-10) https://substack.com/about
  38. [38] Klaviyo vendor pricing page (2026-10) https://www.klaviyo.com/pricing
  39. [39] Constant Contact vendor pricing page (2026-10) https://www.constantcontact.com/pricing
  40. [40] beehiiv help: spam complaints (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/13092270804631.md
  41. [41] beehiiv help: Stripe account types (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/30064926230679.md
  42. [42] beehiiv help: delete a workspace or publication (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/12430837307287.md
  43. [43] beehiiv help: migrate from Substack (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/14966988360215.md
  44. [44] beehiiv help: migrate from Kit (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/22435253930519.md
  45. [45] beehiiv help: Boosts became paid recommendations (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/41790356251159.md
  46. [46] beehiiv help: using the Ad Network (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/17525818225431.md
  47. [47] beehiiv comparison page against Kit (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/comparisons/convertkit.md
  48. [48] beehiiv comparison page against Mailchimp (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/comparisons/mailchimp.md
  49. [49] beehiiv comparison page against Ghost (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/comparisons/ghost.md
  50. [50] beehiiv help: key policies and agreements (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/32902341812759.md
  51. [51] beehiiv public status page (2026-10) https://status.beehiiv.com/
  52. [52] beehiiv help: troubleshooting paid subscriptions (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/support/article/39165102555927.md
  53. [53] beehiiv developer docs: rate limiting (2026-10) https://developers.beehiiv.com/welcome/rate-limiting.md
  54. [54] beehiiv developer docs: webhooks (2026-10) https://developers.beehiiv.com/webhooks.md
  55. [55] beehiiv developer docs: OAuth2 (2026-10) https://developers.beehiiv.com/oauth2.md
  56. [56] beehiiv Trust Center (2026-10) https://security.beehiiv.com/
  57. [57] beehiiv MCP feature page (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/features/mcp.md
  58. [58] beehiiv public MCP: company facts (2026-10) https://www.beehiiv.com/api/mcp#get_company_facts
  59. [59] beehiiv developer docs: getting started (2026-10) https://developers.beehiiv.com/welcome/getting-started.md
  60. [60] beehiiv developer docs: pagination (2026-10) https://developers.beehiiv.com/welcome/pagination.md
  61. [61] beehiiv developer docs index (2026-10) https://developers.beehiiv.com/llms.txt